Kemp sets June 15 elections to replace 2 state House members


ATLANTA (AP) – Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp has set June 15 special elections to replace two Republican state House members who have resigned.

Greg Morris of Vidalia resigned from District 156, which covers all of Montgomery and Toombs counties and parts of Appling and Jefferson Davis counties after fellow lawmakers elected him to the state Transportation Board. Bert Reeves of Marietta resigned from House District 34, which covers parts of central and northern Cobb County, to go to work for Georgia Tech.

Candidates from all parties will run together on the same ballot. If no one wins a majority, a runoff will be held July 13.

Qualifying will be held Monday, Tuesday and until 1 p.m. Wednesday at the Secretary of State’s office in Atlanta.

May 17 is the last day to register to vote in the special election. Early voting will begin May 24.

Savannah Democrat Mickey Stephens has also announced he is resigning. But as of Friday, the House website still shows he is a member.

Reeves, who has been a floor leader for Kemp, will oversee government and community relations and economic development starting Saturday.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

View original


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here